About us

  • Founded in 2002 in Vienna
  • Independent and 100% owned by management
  • Link between Austrian fund selectors and international asset managers (enhanced Third Party Marketing)
  • Management of Investment Advisory Mandates
  • Licensed as Financial Service Company by the Austrian Financial Market Authority (FMA) according to § 3(2)1 WAG 2007
  • Notification for Germany and Liechtenstein

Data protection commissioner

Mag. Florian Gröschl
datenschutz@arc.at

Our Management

Dr. Wolfgang Alkier

Portrait: Dr. Wolfgang Alkier
Following his Law, Economics and Business degrees in Vienna, Graz and the US, Wolfgang founded the Dr. Alkier GmbH (a consulting and investment company) in 1984. In 1986 he set up Consult U.S.A., Inc., NY which he sold in the 90s. From 1996 to 2001 he was an elected representative to the Vienna City Council, where he served as a member of the committee for finance and economics as well as heading the supervisory committee. Since 1992 he has managed a family portfolio primarily focused on Absolute Return oriented funds and in 2002 founded ARC - Absolute Return Consulting GmbH.

Mag. Florian Gröschl

Portrait: Mag. Florian Gröschl
Florian joined Absolute Return Consulting GmbH in 2011, started the absolute return fund of fund mahi546 in October 2012 and became a member of the board of ARC as Co-CEO and CIO in January 2013. Before ARC he worked for LGT Bank Österreich AG as portfolio manager and member of the Investment Committee, managing various Absolute Return Portfolios for High Net Worth Individuals. Prior to working for LGT Florian was a fund manager for fixed income and absolute return at Bawag PSK invest. He started his career in his family business taking care of asset management issues. Florian holds a degree in International Finance from the Vienna University of Economics and Business and qualified as Certified Portfoliomanager (CPM) in 2005.

Paul Richter-Trummer MSc

Portrait: Paul Richter-Trummer
Paul joined the ARC-team in 2014. He is primarily focused on fund research and manager selection, as well as servicing institutional clients. In 2015 he became director at ARC – Absolute Return Consulting GmbH. Before joining ARC, he was working at Raiffeisen Bank International AG as a member of the equity research team (Raiffeisen Research). Paul holds a master’s degree in business (specialized in portfolio management and entrepreneurship) from the university of Graz und has spent multiple years studying in the US as well as the Republic of Georgia.

Our Service

For fund selectors

  • Independent support for manager selection
  • Conviction in our recommendations (we are oftentimes co-invested in the funds of our partners)
  • Optimal service through local presence
  • Regular research on investment funds
  • Access to asset managers that are otherwise not represented in Austria
  • Regular on-site due-diligence visits at the asset managers by ARC – Absolute Return Consulting GmbH
  • Experience in Absolute Return funds (AIF, UCITS and Off-Shore) as well as Long Only funds
  • mahi546 as an example of our investment advisory capabilities

For international asset managers

  • Professional marketing and cost-efficient sales of investment funds in Austria (enhanced Third Party Marketing)
  • Access to an established network of investors, financial journalists and cooperation partners
  • Local representation and regular contact with the key institutional decision makers
  • Planning and organization of roadshows in Austria
  • Knowledge of the requirements of the Austrian market (Taxes, Reporting, etc.)
  • ARC – Absolute Return Consulting GmbH is well respected on the Austrian market for manager selection
  • Presence in specialised press

Our Values

Excellence & Conviction

Our goal is the best performance for our clients. That’s why we are looking for exceptional asset managers and investment products for our investors as well as for our investment advisory. We strive to provide excellent support services. Our conviction in our recommendations is backed by investments in the funds of our partners. We set high expectations on ourselves, as well as on our partners.

Independence & Integrity

As a privately owned independent company we are firmly committed to our clients’ and partners’ interests. We conduct our business with the highest integrity and fairness towards all our stakeholders is important to us.

Stability & Progress

We value long term relationships with our clients, partners and employees. We support the professional development of our employees and continuously improve our methods to keep up with the high expectations we put on ourselves. We want to enjoy what we do and regard what we do also as part of our personal development.

Reliability & Openness

In an environment that needs more long-term oriented behavior, we strive to be a reliable and economically successful partner. We are aware of changing demands and opportunities and are therefore always open to new opportunities and innovative ventures.

Important information

The contents of this website are confidential and/or legally protected and intended only for information purposes of the named addressee(s). The information on this website has been obtained from sources believed reliable (data of fund companies themselves or extern data from e.g. Bloomberg), but we do not guarantee its accuracy or completeness, and it should not be relied upon as such. The information contained herein does not constitute an offer to buy or sell a product, neither can it replace an individual consultation. Furthermore, the information provided is neither a recommendation nor an offer to buy or sell a product and should not be regarded as such. Information on this website should not be regarded as legal or tax advice and we suggest consulting an expert before making any (investment) decision. Past performance should not be taken as an indication or guarantee of future performance, and no representation or warranty, express or implied, is made regarding future performance. ARC will not assume any liability for loss or damage of any kind, arising, directly or indirectly, through the use of any part of the information provided. ARC doesn’t offer a general comparison of all available products, but focuses on a selected number of providers. A list of all products offered by ARC is available in the log-in area (registration obligatory). Please notice that investment products and information mentioned on the website are not intended for distribution in the US. Therefore, they do not apply to US residents according to Rule 902, Regulation S, Securities Act 1933 (in particular American citizens or persons permanently resident in the US). If you have read and understood these conditions of use you may click the "Agree" button below to proceed. By doing so you acknowledge that you understand the conditions of use and agree to abide by them.

Über uns

  • Gegründet Anfang 2002 in Wien
  • Unabhängig und zu 100 % im Privateigentum des Managements
  • Bindeglied zwischen lokalen Fondsselektoren und internationalen Fondsgesellschaften
  • Betreuung von Investment Advisory Mandaten
  • Österreichische FMA-Konzession als Wertpapierfirma nach § 3(2)1 WAG 2007
  • Notifikation für Liechtenstein und Deutschland

Unser Management

Dr. Wolfgang Alkier

Portrait: Dr. Wolfgang Alkier
Nach seinem Jus-, VWL- und BWL-Studium in Wien, Graz und in den USA gründete Wolfgang 1984 die noch heute bestehende Unternehmensberatungs- und beteiligungsfirma Dr. Alkier GmbH. 1986 kam eine Niederlassung in New York, die Consult U.S.A., Inc., dazu, die Anfang der 90er Jahre verkauft wurde. Von 1996 bis 2001 war er auch Landtagsabgeordneter und Gemeinderat in Wien, mit weiteren Funktionen wie stellvertretender Vorsitzender des Kontrollausschusses sowie Mitglied im GR-Ausschuss für Finanzen und Wirtschaftspolitik. Parallel dazu beschäftigt sich Wolfgang bereits seit 1992 mit Fondsselektion und Portfoliomanagement, was 2002 in der Gründung der Absolute Return Consulting GmbH (ARC) resultierte.

Mag. Florian Gröschl

Portrait: Mag. Florian Gröschl
Florian kam 2011 zur ARC - Absolute Return Consulting GmbH, lancierte unseren Fund of Fund mahi546 im Oktober 2012. Im Jänner 2013 wurde er neben Herrn Dr. Alkier als Geschäftsführer bestellt. Vor der ARC war er als Investment Manager und Mitglied des Investment Komitees bei der LGT Bank (Österreich) AG beschäftigt. Er war für die Gestionierung diverser Mandate und Fonds hauptsächlich im Absolute Return Bereich zuständig. Bis Ende 2008 war Florian Fondsmanager für Absolute Return und Fixed Income in der Bawag PSK Invest Gmbh. Seine Karriere begann im Familienunternehmen in dem er seit 1997 für Assetmanagement Fragen zuständig war. Er hat einen Abschluss der Wu-Wien (Handelswissenschaften) und ist seit 2005 Certified Portfoliomanager.

Paul Richter-Trummer MSc

Portrait: Paul Richter-Trummer
Paul ist seit Juli 2014 Teil des ARC-Teams. Zu seinen Aufgaben gehören die Fondsanalyse und -selektion sowie die Betreuung von institutionellen Investoren. Anfang 2015 wurde er als Prokurist der ARC - Absolute Return Consulting GmbH bestellt. Vor der ARC war er bei der Raiffeisen Bank International AG im Team der Aktienmarktanalyse (Raiffeisen Research) tätig. Paul hat Wirtschaftswissenschaften (Spezialisierung auf Portfoliomanagement und Entrepreneurship) an der Universität Graz studiert und dabei mehrjährige Auslandserfahrung in den USA und Georgien gesammelt.

Unser Service

Für Fondsselektoren

  • Unabhängige Unterstützung bei der Fondsauswahl
  • Auswahl der Produkte aus Investorensicht (eigene Investitionen in die Fonds unserer Partner)
  • Optimale Betreuung und Service durch lokale Präsenz
  • Regelmäßiges Research zu Investmentfonds
  • Kontakte zu in Österreich noch nicht vertretenen Fondsgesellschaften
  • Periodische Vor-Ort Due Dilligence bei den Asset Managern durch ARC - Absolute Return Consulting GmbH
  • Langjährige Erfahrung bei Absolute Return Fonds (AIF, UCITS und Offshore) sowie Long Only Fonds
  • mahi546 als Beispiel unserer Advisory Services

Für Produktanbieter

  • Professionelles Marketing und effizienter Vertrieb von Investmentfonds am Österreichischen Markt (enhanced Third Party Marketing)
  • Zugang zu einem etablierten Netzwerk an Investoren, Finanzjournalisten und Kooperationspartnern (Wirtschaftsprüfer, Depotbanken, Finanzdatenprovider, etc.)
  • Lokale Präsenz und regelmäßiger persönlicher Kontakt mit institutionellen Investoren
  • Planung und Organisation von Roadshows in Österreich
  • Kenntnis der Standardansprüche des österreichischen Marktes (Reporting, Steuern, etc.)
  • ARC - Absolute Return Consulting GmbH ist bei österreichischen Investoren als kompetenter Partner im Bereich Fonds Selektion etabliert
  • Präsenz in der Fachpresse

Wofür wir stehen

Excellence & Überzeugung

Unser Ziel ist Performance für unsere Kunden und Partner. Deshalb wollen wir herausragende Asset Manager und Investmentprodukte für unsere Investoren und unser Advisory finden und ausgezeichnetes Service bieten. Mit eigenen Investitionen unterstreichen wir unsere Überzeugung in die von uns selektierten Fonds und Manager. Wir haben gleichermaßen hohe Ansprüche an uns selbst, wie auch an unsere Partner.

Unabhängigkeit & Integrität

Als unabhängiges Unternehmen in privater Hand sind wir ausschließlich unseren Kunden und Partnern verpflichtet. Wir führen unsere Geschäfte mit höchster Integrität im Interesse unserer Kunden. Fairness gegenüber allen unseren Stakeholdern steht dabei im Vordergrund.

Beständigkeit & Weiterentwicklung

Langfristige Beziehungen zu unseren Kunden, Partnern und Mitarbeitern sind uns ein Anliegen. Wir legen Wert auf Weiterbildung, um unsere Methoden laufend zu verbessern und den hohen Ansprüchen gerecht zu werden. Wir wollen unsere Aufgaben achtsam, effizient und mit Freude erledigen und sehen unsere Tätigkeit als Teil unserer persönlichen Entwicklung.

Verlässlichkeit & Offenheit

In einem Umfeld das nachhaltiges Verhalten verlangt, wollen wir ein verlässlicher und wirtschaftlich erfolgreicher Partner sein. Wir sind uns bewusst, dass sich die Anforderungen an unser Unternehmen laufend ändern und sind daher immer offen für neue Opportunitäten und innovative Herausforderungen.

Wichtige rechtliche Hinweise

Die auf dieser Website veröffentlichten Informationen sind als Marketingmitteilungen und nicht als Empfehlung zum Kauf, Verkauf oder Halten eines Produkts, nicht als Angebot zum Kauf bzw. Verkauf oder als Aufforderung, ein solches Angebot zu stellen, zu verstehen. Die Website dient lediglich einer ersten Information und ersetzt keine auf die individuellen Besonderheiten jedes Interessenten abgestimmte Beratung. Ferner handelt es sich bei dem Informationen der Website nicht um eine Rechts- oder Steuerberatung. ARC empfiehlt, vor Inanspruchnahme einer Dienstleistung bzw. vor Zeichnung eines Produkts hinsichtlich der konkreten steuerlichen Auswirkungen einen Steuerberater zu befragen. ARC rät dringend, Anlageentscheidungen erst nach individueller Beratung durch einen (ARC-)Experten zu treffen. ARC bietet dem Kunden keinen umfassenden Marktvergleich über alle auf dem Markt erhältlichen Produkte, sondern berät nur über ausgewählte Finanzinstrumente. Eine Liste dieser Produkte ist im geschützten Kundenbereich (Zugang nach Registrierung) abrufbar. Die Informationen zu Fonds oder anderen Produkten sowie andere auf der Website zur Verfügung gestellte Informationen sind nicht an US-Bürger bzw. für Personen, die in den USA ansässig sind ("US-Person" nach Regulation S des Securities Act 1933), gerichtet. Die auf dieser Website genannten Produkte dürfen in den USA bzw. "US-Personen" nicht angeboten bzw. empfohlen werden. Wird in den auf dieser Website veröffentlichten Informationen auf die (frühere) Entwicklung von Fonds oder anderen Produkten Bezug genommen, ist zu bedenken, dass die frühere Entwicklung keine Rückschlüsse auf die künftige Entwicklung zulässt. Die auf dieser Website veröffentlichten Informationen stammen aus Quellen, die ARC als zuverlässig erachtet. ARC gewährleistet aber die Richtigkeit, Vollständigkeit und Aktualität der veröffentlichten Informationen nicht.